top of page

Lay-n-Go Review

How many of you have stepped on a rogue lego block recently? Or have been told by a parent just how painful a lego underfoot can be? I have not yet experienced this, but have had a taste with Duplo (a larger version of lego). The reason these blocks are frequently underfoot is often because the 'masterpieces' created are too good to put away immediately, but also, because the pieces are so darn small they are almost impossible to find (except when you are walking to the toilet at midnight!). So storage is most definitely the solution in this case, and there are multiple options out there, I've tried out a few so far for the Duplo. My last one being tubs that were emptied all over the floor by Miss2, to then have to be picked up by yours truly (I know, I am currently working on making packing toys away 'fun'). So I began to wonder what I could possibly do to solve this rather annoying problem.

Enter Lay-n-Go, a storage solution that has myself and a collection of Mumma Trends mums absolutely thrilled. It is a play mat and bag all in one, and it is the easiest way to clean up a large floor space that I have come across so far.

I was so excited when the large Lay-n-Go bag arrived, although it took a little convincing to get Miss2 to come around to the idea, I managed to get the Duplo out of the tubs and onto the mat pretty quickly. What followed was a good hour of creating a zoo, a farm and then having firemen put out fires all over the 'island'. The fabulous part of this was that as soon as I had tipped the Duplo onto the huge mat, Miss2 incorporated it into her play, which resulted in her making sure no Duplo block strayed from the green surface (extra bonus for me, yay!). When her imagination waned a little, and it was time to pack up, there were no arguments, no dramas around putting everything back into tubs, in fact, she was thrilled to help: holding the extra long drawstring out for me, so I could slide the clip all the way to the end, and turning the play mat into a bag once more. She absolutely loved it, and it took a grand total of about 30seconds to have a totally clear floor again!

IMG_6478.JPG
IMG_6483.JPG

While the design means that Miss2 can't open and close the bag herself (although no doubt it won't take her long to figure that out), I simply leave it slightly open, so should she want access to the blocks, she can reach in for them... or ask for help to spread it out of course! But the flexibility of this storage design has meant that I can also tuck the bag under a chair, so it takes up even less space. This again has been a wonderful bonus for us, as we have limited space in our small house.

Lay-n-Go have a variety of sizes and design options available, meaning you are not limited to just toy storage and transport. They even have a travel bag for toiletries... how brilliant is this concept? The bag that I have been using is the large one, and initially I thought that there would be no way I would be able to fit two tubs into the bag, how wrong was I? It is huge! I now feel compelled to go and buy more Duplo, just to fill the extra space in the bag!

4604828294 (2).png

I have had friends from my mothers group visit recently and marvel at the design, and because on the Central Coast, we are by the beach, they are also very impressed with the fabric, a sturdy water resistant fabric that will allow sand to be easily brushed off...perfect for taking beach toys on and off the beach quickly. And for wiping off spills.

I have no doubt that the more I think about it, the more positives I will come up with for this product. So I would suggest to you to think about the times you have needed a quick clean-up option, the times you have needed an easy toy transporter when travelling, and of course, the times you have tripped over or stepped on an annoying toy. The Lay-n-Go could be the answer you are looking for. It certainly has been for me!

12-07-09_Lay-n-Go-LITE_Slogan and Steps-small.jpg

Shop for it here: www.layngo.com.au

Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page